Serving the Antelope Valley for over 25 years.

Call Today for a FREE CONSULTATION:

EspaƱol
661.945.4357

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim?

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim?

Nobody ever expects to be injured at the hands of another party. Whether it is the result of a car accident, a slip and fall, or a mishap involving a dangerous product, a sudden injury can throw a wrench in the gears of your life and cause you to experience immense pain and hardship. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your injury, you may have grounds to file a personal injury claim against the responsible party or their insurance company in pursuit of fair compensation for your losses. With that being said, it is important you act quickly because you only have a limited amount of time to file a claim.

California’s Personal Injury Statute of Limitations

Every state has a limit to the amount of time in which injured parties may legally pursue compensation, known as a “statute of limitations.” If this time limit expires before a person has filed a claim, they may lose their right to pursue legal action, and therefore, their ability to recover damages. Since the process of gathering information and preparing a claim can potentially take several months alone, it is important for injured parties to move quickly and retain the services of a knowledgeable attorney to ensure their compliance with this deadline.

Depending on the type of injury and the cause, in California, this limit can range anywhere from one year to three years after a person is injured. Ordinary personal injury claims are subject to a two-year statute of limitations, while claims stemming from medical malpractice are valid for up to three years after the date of injury, or one year after discovering the injury.

Injured? Our Lancaster Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help

Unfortunately, the process of seeking compensation after an injury can often be incredibly complex, leaving individuals to be stonewalled by uncooperative insurance companies. If your or a loved one has been injured through no fault of your own, contact our team of Lancaster personal injury lawyers at Accident Attorneys today. Having secured more than $1 billion on behalf of injured clients throughout the Antelope Valley, our aggressive team of litigators is prepared to fight tooth and nail to maximize your potential financial recovery.

Dial (661) 945-4357 or contact us online today to discuss your case with us in full detail.

Categories