Our Palmdale car accident lawyers respond immediately to clients’ calls for help, and we represent clients throughout the Antelope Valley in order to ensure they get the compensation they deserve.
Driver Distraction in Lancaster Car Accidents
Compensation for Distracted Driving Accidents
If you have been injured or have lost a loved one in a car accident that was caused by a driver who was talking or texting behind the wheel, contact us at Accident Attorneys for a free case evaluation to find out whether you have ground to file a personal injury or wrongful death claim.
If it can be proven that the other driver was at fault for causing the accident due to the fact that he or she was willingly engaging in distracting activities while driving, you may be able to recover financial compensation. Our attorneys have more than 75 years of combined legal experience, and we are ready to take action on your claim for damages.
Texting While Driving Is Illegal in Lancaster and Palmdale
Under the terms of California Vehicle Code §23123, all drivers are prohibited from using cell phones and other handheld electronic communications devices behind the wheel. Many states across the country ban cell phones only for teenage drivers, but California's ban applies to drivers of any age.
This includes a prohibition against talking, as well as sending or receiving text messages. The ban is a primary enforcement law, which means that a police officer can pull a driver over on the grounds that he or she was talking or texting behind the wheel and without any other reason.
How Common Are Distracted Drivers?
Using a cell phone while driving is obviously dangerous. In fact, AT&T recently conducted a survey that found that 98 percent of commuters believe that texting or sending email behind the wheel is dangerous. In spite of the widespread recognition of its danger, many drivers continue to engage in this behavior.
The same survey found that 49 percent of commuters admit to texting while driving, in addition to 43 percent of teenagers. It is also becoming increasingly common, as evidenced by the fact that 60 percent of commuters reported that they never would have texted behind the wheel as recently as 3 years ago.
Help from an Experienced Antelope Valley Car Accident Attorney
By hiring an Antelope Valley personal injury lawyer to represent you in legal action, you may be able to not only recover financial compensation for your losses but also bring pressure to bear against the dangerous trend of driver distraction.
If someone else's negligence or carelessness caused your accident, you have the right to pursue financial compensation for your damages. Speak with a lawyer from Accident Attorneys to learn more about your legal rights and options with our firm. You can also fill out an online evaluation form for additional information about your unique case.
Every case is different. A variety of circumstances determine the value of your claim. Property damage, medical expenses, hospitalization fees, pain, and suffering, missed wages, and many other factors can affect the outcome of your case.
You can even collect damages for future unemployment / missed wages and ongoing medical costs. Speak with a member of the legal team at Accident Attorneys to learn more about the potential value of your case.
If you file a claim against an individual, his / her insurance company is probably aware of the judgment. If the insurance is unaware of the settlement, you can notify the insurer. At this point, the insurance provider should issue a check for the settlement.
If the responsible party does not have insurance, you may need to enter the settlement with the court. The court has the authority to enforce the judgment if the responsible party refuses to pay.
There is no minimum amount of money allowed for a personal injury settlement; every case is determined by the unique facts surrounding the claim. Additionally, most jurisdictions do not have a cap on the amount of my money that you can receive through a personal injury settlement.
In California, the amount of money that you can receive for noneconomic damages (pain, suffering, etc.) for a medical malpractice case is limited to $250,000; however, other injury settlements are not subject to this restriction.
Generally speaking, parents are not allowed to access any money given to their child for a personal injury settlement. This is because some parents may take the money for their own benefit instead of the child.
Your child's money will probably be placed in a blocked bank account that only he / she can access at the age of 18. The court may allow you to access the money sooner, but only if it is needed for the child's well-being or health.